Welcome to the Digital Age

The department of Computer Science is a research- and teaching-oriented department with curricula offerings at the Baccalaureate, Master’s and Doctoral level. The department comprises 17 full-time faculty and four staff. While the department offers traditional, general Computer Science programs, it emphasizes Digital Forensics, Information Assurance, and Cybersecurity.

The department is proud of its record of providing high quality professionals to business and industry, and to State and Federal agencies. The Deputy Chief Information Security Officer for the State and the Director of the State’s Cybersecurity division are among our alumni. Our alumni include professionals at Dell, Exxon, Google, Microsoft, Netflix, Rackspace, and Texas Instruments, to name but a few.

Aligned with the demographics of the university, most of our undergraduate students originate from the area spanning from Houston to Dallas. However, we are proud to have students from across the nation and around the world.

We hope that the information provided on this site will be useful to prospective and current students, faculty members, others in the SHSU community, and the public. Please feel free to contact us for more detailed information about the work of the Department of Computer Science.